Matt Smith is growing on me

I read it all over Pinterest and I must say, I agree now.

20140116-160835.jpg

When the 11th Doctor was introduced I had a hard time adjusting to him. Matt Smith seemed so different from Tennant (the Almighty Tennant surely grows on you- he is “brilliant”). I still believe the new writer and Matt Smith himself had to find the groove into the new series but sure enough Matt Smith has become the Doctor. He is a great actor. I totally buy his performance! He plays the 900 year old Time Lord so well. Even though Tennant is still my favorite Doctor I must say, that it’s a bit easier to watch the new series. The 10th Doctor was lonely and his heart broke over so many companion and people he loved and lost. In the last episode of the 10th Doctor (Tennant) where he sits in the cafe with Donna’s Grand-dad and starts crying, it showed his loneliness and his brokenness. That scene was so hard to watch, seriously!The doctor is such a deep and interesting character, funny, brilliant and chaotic. But also lonely, loving and brokenhearted. That was the 10th Doctor. Matt Smith as the 11th has his sad moments, too but the new series is a bit easier to watch since it doesn’t put the emphasis so much on his loneliness but more on him being a wonderful crazy, geeky genius. So, Matt Smith, you are officially my best friend. Picture above is so true!)

20140116-162104.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. habibilamour
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 16:51:31

    Matt Smith is my favourite :-) …definitely easier to watch because I do get depressed easily.

    Reply

    • vansotaku
      Jan 16, 2014 @ 16:56:57

      Oh yes, I totally agree. Even though it’s fictional, it totally kills you when the main character is hurting

      Reply

  2. chorenn
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 04:04:11

    I agree – the Eleventh Doctor takes a while to warm up to, but once you do, he’s very fun. It took me a while to figure him out (at first, I thought he was just random, but now I see that he’s basically a child and an ancient at the same time). I still much prefer Nine and Ten as Doctors, though. Nine because he’s tortured and the most alien of the three. Ten because he’s so many different things – lonely, nerdy (love the glasses and the technobabble), enthusiastic about seeing the universe, loving humans, tempted by his dark side, and majestic. I prefer that to Eleven’s childish fun and bombastic nature.

    Reply

    • vansotaku
      Jan 20, 2014 @ 17:09:22

      Yes I agree to that. They are all different characters and my favorite it the tenth, but I do enjoy the 11th being so fun. The 9th was my first doctor and I totally fell in love with the show through him.

      Reply

  3. chorenn
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 08:27:03

    I wish the 9th Doctor had lasted at least another year. He was brilliant.

    Reply

    • vansotaku
      Jan 21, 2014 @ 13:10:44

      Yes he was. I really liked him by the time he left. Fantastic actor. I heard he didn’t like the role of the Doctor and didn’t want to come back for the 50th Anniversary special.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

