Review: Firefly & Serenity

SERENITY_LOGO

firefly_0

Many people told me this was a great show, one of the best Science Fiction series ever made. Everyone I talked to was dissapointed that this show was cancelled and I can see why. The series was made in the early 2000s, but was cut after only one season. Firefly unites Science Fiction and Western and follows a crew of a spaceship named Sirenity.

SPOILERS FROM THIS POINT ON

I started watching Firefly a few weeks ago and finished off with the movie and I agree: there is much potential and I am very  glad they made the movie to wrap everything up and tie loose ends- But I am still kinda bummed Mal and Inara didn’t get together. I guess it was not really meant to be just yet. She stays on the ship for now.

Another thing that I thought was sad, was that Wash died. I always liked his character. I know that if Jayne would have been killed, people would have not cared so much and it is true: In war our friends and family die and Zoe, as the worrier that she is, is strong enough to bear it.

I am not overly bummed there are not more seasons, since I already know it got chancelled early. It’s a good series and they could have done so much more with it, but the excisting episodes are all great and very interesting. If you lice well made and good written Sci-Fi, check this one out!

Leave a Reply

